Board of Directors

A dedicated volunteer Board of Directors oversees the governance of Stella’s Circle.

  • Connie Duffett, Chair

Connie Duffett is a Human Resource Professional with over 17 years of experience. She has worked in healthcare and public sector industries and currently works with the St. John’s International Airport Authority as the Manager of Human Resources. Her experience is primarily in Employee and Labour Relations, Occupational Health and Safety, Compensation and Benefits, Talent Management, Performance Management and Policy Development. She has provided strategic and operational human resources advice and has been a part of the senior leadership team in multiple. She holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Master of Employment Relations from Memorial University and Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety from Ryerson.

  • Ian Froude, Vice Chair
  • Jacqueline Kudla, Treasurer

Jacqueline Kudla, CPA, CA joined Stella’s Circle Board of Directors after moving to Newfoundland in July 2019, leaving her roles as the Director of Corporate Services at the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA), and the Treasurer of her Community Resource Centre in London, Ontario. These organizations provide community based support including mental health services, independent and supported housing, youth and adult social programs, employment services, and social enterprise. Jacqueline is a strategic, accountable, and positive leader who promotes candid communication, teamwork, and continuous improvement. She is passionate about using her financial and accounting expertise in non-profit and public sector organizations in her community.

  • Jim Carroll, Secretary

James William Carroll- Deputy Chief of Police (Retired) M.O.M,  O. STJ.  Born on Bell Island, Jim was raised in St. John’s. In 1982 he was sworn in as a police officer with the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary where he dedicated the next 35 years to public service. Jim retired in 2017 at rank of Deputy Chief. In 2013 he was inducted into the Canadian Order of Merit for Police Officers. Jim is heavily involved in the community as a volunteer. He currently sits on the Board of Directors of St. John Ambulance and has been inducted into Canadian Order of St. John.

  • Dr. Jasbir Gill, Past Chair
  • Leslie Brown
  • Andrew Chirinos
  • Suzanne Fitzgerald
  • Kevin Galway
  • Michelle Hawco
  • Mica McCurdy
  • Jennifer Parsons
  • Drishti Patel, Fora: Network for Change‘s Rise on Boards Young Director
  • Stephen Penney
  • Stephen Thorne
  • Faith March MacCuish, Ex-Officio
  • Stephen Jewczyk, Member Emeritus

Fora: Network for Change’s Rise on Boards
Young Director.